Memorial Day, six year ago started like any other day.  We had the day off and were planning on removing some tree stumps in the front yard in anticipation of putting a gorgeous deck on the front of the barn facing the pond.  Gary's design had multiple levels and would have a zip line from there down to the pond.  This was going to look awesome.  A little hot for this time of the year, the day's temperature was to reach 90 and it did.  After lunch, I decided to work in the office as I am not a big fan of this kind of heat and Gary managed the rest of the stump removal.  About 3pm he came in and indicated he was going to go over to the Ferguson's for a ride.  He had been invited over and felt he had to at least make an appearance.  I was not about to go out in that heat and decided to stay at home and work.  I wish I had stood up from my desk and hugged him before he went, because that would have been the last time I was to have the opportunity.  Later that day, around 4:30pm I got a call that there had been an accident, my world came crashing down and my life would NEVER be the same!

We both have many regrets about what we did and did not do on this day.  We wished we had talked about was he ready to jump, did  I want him to jump, should you do take these kinds of chances if you are married and have a family and the list goes on and on and on.  But we both know you can't change the past and at this point we would not anyway.  We know where we are is where God wants us to be and there is a reason for it.  At times this is not an easy life by any means, but we trust in Him and look forward to what he has in store for us.



Leave a Reply.